FACT SHEET

New Hire Reporting

Employers serve as key partners in ensuring financial stability for many children and families. New hire
reporting facilitates the child support income withholding process, expedites collection of support from parents
who change jobs, and quickly locates alleged parents and noncustodial parents to help in the establishment of
parentage and support. New hire reporting helps children receive vital support.

All employers must report each newly hired or
rehired employee working in New York State,
including individuals under an independent
contractor arrangement with contracts in excess of
$2,500, within 20 calendar days from the date of
hire. Although not required, employers are
encouraged to report all independent contractors
regardless of contract amount.

Definitions:
Newly hired or rehired means an employee who:

o Has not been previously employed by the
employer, or

o Has been previously employed by the
employer but separated from that
employment for 60 or more consecutive days.

Hire date is the first day the employee:

. Performs any services for which he or she will
be paid wages, tips, commissions, or any
other type of compensation.

o Is eligible to earn commissions for services
based solely on commissions.

Multistate Employers:

Federal and State law permits employers with
employees in more than one state to choose a
single state to report all New Hires.

Penalties:

State law allows a $20 penalty for each employee
not reported in a timely manner and a $20 penalty
for each employee for whom the employer fails to
file a report showing the required information

(e.g. false or incomplete reports).

What Must Be Reported:

New York State requires the reporting of the
following information:

e  Employee name (first, middle initial, last)

e Employee address (street, city, state,

and ZIP code)

Employee Social Security number

Employee hire date

Employer name

Employer address (street, city, state,

and ZIP code)

e Employer Federal Employer Identification
Number (FEIN)

e  Whether dependent health insurance benefits
(family coverage) are available to the
employee and if so, the date the employee
qualifies for the benefits

Reporting Methods:

Online: New York New Hire Online Reporting Center

Electronic: Call the New York New Hire
Employer Outreach Department at
(518) 320-1079 for the current
specifications

Fax: (518) 320-1080

Mail: New York State Department of
Taxation and Finance
New Hire Notification
PO Box 15119
Albany, NY 12212-5119

Contact Information:

Email: childsupport.fc-ny@conduent.com
Phone: (518) 320-1079

A Program of the New York State Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance


https://www.nynewhire.com/#/login
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